Susan Tomes in Hamburg - June, 1982

from Domus Diary: Seedorf, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, June 1982, pages 46-47:

A small but attentive audience comes to the evening concert of Bartók Rumanian Dances, Mozart piano concerto (with string quartet instead of orchestra) and Schubert string quintet.... The concert is a success, but physical tiredness begins to show and makes the edges ragged, especially in the Schubert. My hands are so cold that semiquaver passages almost don't work in the Mozart, and a motherly listener tells me afterwards that if I don't get a warmer concert outfit I will be ill by the end of the week. The Schubert has all its spirit from the last performance, but the ensemble is much more …   more >>
cite as

Susan Tomes, Domus Diary: Seedorf, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, June 1982. In Beyond the notes : journeys with chamber music (Woodbridge, 2004), p. 46-47. accessed: 22 November, 2017

location of experience: Hamburg


Susan Tomes
Writer, Pianist

Listening to

hide composers
piano concerto no. 12 in A major K 414 (, performance of)
written by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
performed by Domus, Susan Tomes
String Quintet in C major, D956
written by Schubert
performed by Domus
Rumanian Dances
written by Bartók, Béla, 1881-1945
performed by Domus

Experience Information

Date/Time June, 1982
Medium live
Listening Environment indoors, in the company of others, in public


Experience took place in the evening in Domus's tent, which has been erected in a public park in Hamburg.

Originally submitted by iepearson on Sun, 08 Jun 2014 18:37:21 +0100