Susan Tomes in Hamburg - June, 1982, 08:00 PM

from Domus Diary: Seedorf, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, June 1982, page 49:

The evening concert (our closing concert in Hamburg) is another example [see Experience 1402252838822], but this time a delightful one. For the first time in Germany the dome is packed; twenty minutes before the concert every seat is taken, and by 8 p.m. people are packed into every available space, and are standing behind the back row as well as sitting on the edge of the stage. The atmosphere is elating, and we all feel the adrenalin which has been missing from many of our concerts here. Everything goes well; the Poulenc flute sonata, dignified by Michael's sorrow at parting from an old …   more >>
cite as

Susan Tomes, Domus Diary: Seedorf, Schleswig-Holstein, Germany, June 1982. In Beyond the notes : journeys with chamber music (Woodbridge, 2004), p. 49. accessed: 22 November, 2017

location of experience: Hamburg


Susan Tomes
Writer, Pianist

Listening to

hide composers
Sonata for flute and piano
written by Francis Poulenc
performed by Susan Tomes, Michael Faust
String Quintet in C major, D956
written by Schubert
performed by Domus
piano concerto no. 12 in A major K 414 (, performance of)
written by Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart
performed by Domus, Susan Tomes

Experience Information

Date/Time June, 1982, 08:00 PM
Medium live
Listening Environment indoors, in private, in the company of others

Originally submitted by iepearson on Mon, 09 Jun 2014 13:38:53 +0100