Sergey Prokofiev in Stockholm - 4 November, 1925, at night

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 4 November 1925, page 226:

Dobrowen's subsequent performance of Tchikovsky's Sixth Symphony was met with a clamorous ovation; it is a long time since I heard the Sixth and therefore was able to approach it with fresh ears: the first movement is a magnificent construction, the second the direct opposite, badly done and poor material. The Scherzo is superbly put together and mostly very beautiful, except for the end, which is bad. The conclusion of the fourth movement is astoundingly beautiful (and what a sound!), but the remainder of it is debatable.

cite as

Sergey Prokofiev, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 4 November 1925. In Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries, volume 3 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 226. accessed: 21 November, 2017

location of experience: Stockholm


Sergey Prokofiev
Musician, Composer, performer

Listening to

hide composers
Sixth Symphony
written by Aleksandr Glazunov, Pyotr Ilyich Tchaikovsky
performed by Issay Dobrowen

Experience Information

Date/Time 4 November, 1925, at night
Medium live
Listening Environment indoors, in the company of others, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Sun, 29 May 2016 21:05:09 +0100
Approved on Mon, 19 Jun 2017 10:51:05 +0100