Sergey Prokofiev in Concertgebouw - 10 December, 1925

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 10 December 1925, page 234:

The rehearsal began with the Scythian Suite (but they had already had two rehearsals before my arrival). Then Schmuller in the Violin Concerto. Finally we read through No. 3 [Piano Concerto] with me as soloist, an excellent first reading. Monteux is very conscientious, precisely carries out everything I tell him and has an attentive ear for all mistakes. Schmuller is also very meticulous, takes slow tempi and plays every note.

cite as

Sergey Prokofiev, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 10 December 1925. In Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries, volume 3 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 234. accessed: 21 November, 2017

location of experience: Concertgebouw


Sergey Prokofiev
Musician, Composer, performer

Listening to

hide composers
Ala i Lolli
written by Sergey Prokofiev
Violin Concerto
written by Sergey Prokofiev
performed by Pierre Monteux, Alexander Schmuller
Piano Concerto No. 3
written by Sergey Prokofiev
performed by Pierre Monteux, Sergey Prokofiev

Experience Information

Date/Time 10 December, 1925
Medium live
Listening Environment indoors, in private, in the company of others

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Sun, 29 May 2016 22:23:01 +0100
Approved on Mon, 19 Jun 2017 10:46:11 +0100