Susan Tomes in Cheltenham - 5 July, 1981, 02:00 PM

from Domus Diary: Preparing for the Cheltenham Festival, 1981, pages 15-16:

So we begin... But the opening piece, Mozart's Kleine Nachtmusik, feels a little flat, and we can all sense it. Then Michael explains to the audience the history of the next piece, Debussy's Syrinx for solo flute, and how he sometimes played it from the platform suspended from the roof of the dome, as a kind-of signature tune. This clearly engages the audience's attention, and Michael's lovely performance follows. Then I decide to introduce the players to the audience, and find myself rambling on about what it's like to be a performer as opposed to being an audience, and how easy it is to …   more >>
cite as

Susan Tomes, Domus Diary: Preparing for the Cheltenham Festival, 1981. In Beyond the notes : journeys with chamber music (Woodbridge, 2004), p. 15-16. accessed: 18 May, 2024

location of experience: Cheltenham


Susan Tomes
Pianist, Writer

Listening to

hide composers
'Eine Kleine Nachtmusik'
written by Mozart
performed by Domus
'Syrinx' for solo flute
written by Claude Debussy
performed by Michael Faust
Piano trio
written by Dmitri Shostakovich
performed by Domus

Experience Information

Date/Time 5 July, 1981, 02:00 PM
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Experience took place in the Domus tent, which was pitched in the Imperial Gardens, Cheltenham. Whilst the Shostakovich work is not named, given the personnel involved in the concert it was mostly likely a piano trio.

Originally submitted by iepearson on Thu, 24 Apr 2014 16:32:14 +0100