Susan Tomes in Cheltenham - 8 July, 1981

from Domus Diary: Preparing for the Cheltenham Festival, 1981, page 19:

Today's concert is the Claude Bolling Suite for flute and piano, and the Faure Piano Quartet. The Faure has mysteriously erased several of its problems since we last played it, and seems to have partaken of that odd process whereby unconscious work is done on it in the intervals between rehearsing it, in this case an interval of two weeks. Certain of its tempi, previously a subject of dispute, have settled down, and the direction of many of the phrases, which remained obscure to use because of the peculiarly French hingeing, have clarified. It was thus a pleasant experience to perform it, …   more >>
cite as

Susan Tomes, Domus Diary: Preparing for the Cheltenham Festival, 1981. In Beyond the notes : journeys with chamber music (Woodbridge, 2004), p. 19. accessed: 19 April, 2024

location of experience: Cheltenham


Susan Tomes
Pianist, Writer

Listening to

hide composers
piano quartet no. 1 in C minor op. 15
written by Fauré
Suite for flute and piano
written by Claude Bolling
performed by Susan Tomes, Michael Faust

Experience Information

Date/Time 8 July, 1981
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Experience took place in Domus's tent in the Imperial Gardens in Cheltenham.

Originally submitted by iepearson on Thu, 24 Apr 2014 17:43:43 +0100