in Royal Festival Hall - 17 March, 2011, 07:30 PM

from Email to Philharmonia Orchestra dated 18 March 2011:

Dear Sir or Madam, I was very disappointed with last night's concert. Rarely can members of the Philharmonia have made so many mistakes in playing a Brahms symphony, and Schiff ought to stick to playing the piano. The first movement was turgid in the extreme - it is decidedly not a slow movement- and then the slow movement was even slower. Brahms made very boring. The Mendelssohn was a warning that this might happen. Fortunately the Dvorak was better, but there were moments of scrappy ensemble that could be put down to the conductor rather than the players. I am a Friend of the Philharmonia, …   more >>
cite as

Email to Philharmonia Orchestra dated 18 March 2011. accessed: 19 May, 2024 (Philharmonia Orchestra)

location of experience: Royal Festival Hall

Listening to

hide composers
Cello Concerto
written by Antonín Dvorák
performed by Steven Isserlis, Philharmonia Orchestra
Hebrides Overture
written by Felix Mendelssohn
performed by Philharmonia Orchestra
Symphony no 4
written by Brahms, Beethoven
performed by Philharmonia Orchestra

Experience Information

Date/Time 17 March, 2011, 07:30 PM
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Names have been redacted at the request of the Philharmonia Orchestra

Originally submitted by Ivan Hewett on Tue, 06 May 2014 17:31:01 +0100