between the 1890's and the 1900's

from Teaching the clarinet: vibrato, page 207:

Just before World War II a question was put to a very old viola-player, sometime conductor of the Duke of Devonshire's Orchestra, about the playing of Mühlfeld. The old man had occasionally been called in by Joachim to play in his quartet, and on several occasions had played the Brahms Quintet with the great Mühlfeld. Of the clarinettist's playing he was most enthusiastic, saying that three things mainly stuck in his memory. 'He used two clarinets, A and B flat, for the slow movement, to simplify the gypsy section; he had a fiery technique with a warm tone - and a big vibrato.' Asked again …   more >>
cite as

Jack Brymer, Teaching the clarinet: vibrato. In Yehudi Menuhin (ed.), Clarinet (Yehudi Menuhin Music Guides) (1979), p. 207. accessed: 25 July, 2024

Listening to

hide composers
Clarinet Quintet op. 115
written by Brahms
performed by Richard Mühlfeld, Joseph Joachim

Experience Information

Date/Time between the 1890's and the 1900's
Medium live

Originally submitted by iepearson on Sat, 06 Dec 2014 14:39:34 +0000
Approved on Wed, 02 Mar 2016 13:50:12 +0000