Jack Brymer in London - the 1930's

from Beginnings and Endings, page 42:

The first piece I met was the Tchaikovsky Pathétique Symphony, with some of the loveliest legato clarinet writing in it. I couldn't play it --- I knew how to but the stupid old clarinet would not let me. Not legato, and not in tune. There was no help for me - it was back onto second clarinet for me... A way out had to be found; and, incredibly, it was very simple, taking only one week to accomplish once I had decided I had to make the second and biggest change of instruments of my life.
cite as

Jack Brymer, Beginnings and Endings (1979), p. 42. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1422202053613 accessed: 27 May, 2024

location of experience: London


Jack Brymer
Schoolteacher, Clarinetist, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
Symphony No. 6
written by Darius Milhaud, Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky
performed by Frederick Haggis, unspecified orchestra, Jack Brymer

Experience Information

Date/Time the 1930's
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by iepearson on Sun, 25 Jan 2015 16:07:34 +0000
Approved on Wed, 02 Mar 2016 13:26:46 +0000