Eugène Ysaÿe in Brussels - 12 May, 1931

from My Viola and I: a complete autobiography / Lionel Tertis, page 39:

Among his [Ysaÿe] compositions are six sonatas for solo violin, one of which, the fourth, he dedicated to Kreisler. Philip Newman, an outstanding fiddler and a pupil of Ysaÿe, told me that he stood outside the bedroom door on the day Ysaÿe died in 1931 and played this sonata to him. He was afterwards informed by Antonine Ysaÿe that his father opened his eyes when he heard the violin and at the end of the first movement murmured ‘Very fine!’ During the finale Ysaÿe tried to beat time and when the sonata came to an end he said, ‘Splendid!- but a …   more >>

cite as

Lionel Tertis, My Viola and I: a complete autobiography / Lionel Tertis (Great Britain, 1974), p. 39. accessed: 16 April, 2024

location of experience: Brussels


Eugène Ysaÿe

Listening to

hide composers
Six sonatas for solo violin
written by Eugène Ysaÿe
performed by Philip Newman

Experience Information

Date/Time 12 May, 1931
Medium live


History told by Philip Newman to Lionel Tertis.

Originally submitted by tlisboa on Thu, 19 Feb 2015 11:22:16 +0000
Approved on Tue, 12 Jan 2016 14:20:31 +0000