Richard Temple Savage in Wimbledon - 1929

from A voice from the Pit: Reminiscences of an Orchestral Musician, page 24:

In the twenties the only chamber music considered suitable for high-class music clubs was, of course, strings. Wind music was looked upon as rather low so I felt I had made something of a breakthrough when I persuaded the Wimbledon Music Club in 1929 to listen to and enjoy the Mozart Quintet for piano and four wind. The bassoonist was Jason Lewkowitch who subsequently became the contra-bassoonist for the London Philharmonic Orchestra when Beecham formed it in 1932.
cite as

Richard Temple Savage, A voice from the Pit: Reminiscences of an Orchestral Musician (Newton Abbot, 1988), p. 24. accessed: 24 May, 2022

location of experience: Wimbledon


Richard Temple Savage
clarinettist music librarian, writer, music librarian, Clarinetist, Writer

Listening to

hide composers
Quintet in E-flat major, K452
written by Mozart
performed by Jason Lewkowitch, other unspecified musicians

Experience Information

Date/Time 1929
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by iepearson on Sun, 15 Mar 2015 14:34:45 +0000
Approved on Sun, 20 Dec 2015 15:18:07 +0000