Richard Temple Savage in Queen's Hall - 18 July, 1940

from A voice from the Pit: Reminiscences of an Orchestral Musician, page 72:

One thing was certain, money for the orchestra had to be raised at all costs on on 8th July 1940 the "Musical Manifesto" concert was given at Queen's Hall with Boult conducting Elgar's "Cockaigne" Overture, Basil Cameron conducting Eileen Joyce playing the Grieg Piano Concerto and the Second Symphony of Sibelius with Sargent.
cite as

Richard Temple Savage, A voice from the Pit: Reminiscences of an Orchestral Musician (Newton Abbot, 1988), p. 72. accessed: 18 May, 2024

location of experience: Queen's Hall


Richard Temple Savage
clarinettist music librarian, writer, music librarian, Clarinetist, Writer

Listening to

hide composers
'Cockaigne' (In London Town) op. 40
written by Edward Elgar
performed by Sir Adrian Boult, London Philharmonic Orchestra
Piano concerto in A minor, op. 16
written by Edvard Grieg
performed by Basil Cameron, Eileen Joyce, London Philharmonic Orchestra
Symphony No. 2 in D major, op. 43
written by Jean Sibelius
performed by Malcolm Sargent, London Philharmonic Orchestra

Experience Information

Date/Time 18 July, 1940
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by iepearson on Fri, 17 Apr 2015 12:02:38 +0100
Approved on Sun, 20 Dec 2015 15:57:35 +0000