Richard Temple Savage in Royal Opera House - between in the middle of 1956 and 1957

from A voice from the Pit: Reminiscences of an Orchestral Musician, pages 154-155:

"The Trojans" is in two parts - the Fall of Troy and the Trojans at Carthage. In Paris often the first part was performed on it own and never previously had the work been given in its entirety in one evening. It was performed virtually without cuts except for some of the dance music and a portion of the last act. I also remember having to condense the two stage bands into one and they had to play up in the paint frame, backstage. We still had no closed-circuit television, only a loud-speaker so that John Matheson who was conducting the stage band, knew when to come in. On the first night …   more >>

cite as

Richard Temple Savage, A voice from the Pit: Reminiscences of an Orchestral Musician (Newton Abbot, 1988), p. 154-155. accessed: 6 December, 2023

location of experience: Royal Opera House


Richard Temple Savage
clarinettist music librarian, writer, music librarian, Clarinetist, Writer

Listening to

hide composers
'Les Troyens'
written by Berlioz
performed by Covent Garden Opera Company, Dermot Troy, John Matheson, Blanche Thebom, Rafael KubelĂ­k

Experience Information

Date/Time between in the middle of 1956 and 1957
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Follows on from Experience 1434908687935.

Originally submitted by iepearson on Sun, 21 Jun 2015 18:44:13 +0100
Approved on Sun, 20 Dec 2015 16:15:09 +0000