Aleksandr Yurasovsky et al. - at the end of 1912

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 24 February 1913, page 324:

He [Alexander Yurasovsky] heard me play my Sonata No. 2 and said that while of course it was very interesting and inventive, it had not a scrap of real melody in it, just a series of 'tigerish leaps'. This annoyed me, and when he said that the movement he liked best was the Scherzo, I retorted, 'Well, I take just the opposite view, that's my least favourite movement . . . '


'Because the other movements are all more subtle; the Scherzo is targeted at a less discriminating taste.'

cite as

Sergei Prokofiev, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 24 February 1913. In Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries 1907-1914 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 324. accessed: 14 April, 2024


Aleksandr Yurasovsky
Composer, Musician
Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
Piano Sonata no. 2
written by Sergei Prokofiev
performed by Sergei Prokofiev

Experience Information

Date/Time at the end of 1912
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Sat, 01 Aug 2015 13:06:43 +0100
Approved on Wed, 06 Jun 2018 10:27:13 +0100