Sergei Prokofiev in Palais Garnier - 13 June, 1925, at night

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 13 June 1925, page 176:

The final Koussevitzky concert, consisting of works by Stravinsky. I listened with great pleasure to Petrushka and The Rite, although both works, when done without staging, tend to come across as formless and fragmented (except the first movement of Petrushka). Stravinsky has made strides not only as a conductor but as a pianist, and rattles through his Concerto with great vigour, even though he has a tendency to bang the keyboard unpleasantly. He had a great success, and the audience was more numerous than at the previous concert. But as before I …   more >>

cite as

Sergei Prokofiev, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 13 June 1925. In Sergey Prokofiev, and Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries, volume 3 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 176. accessed: 7 December, 2023

location of experience: Palais Garnier


Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
Le Sacre du printemps
written by Igor Stravinksy
Piano Concerto
written by Igor Stravinksy
performed by Igor Stravinksy, Serge Koussevitzky
written by Igor Stravinksy
performed by Serge Koussevitzky

Experience Information

Date/Time 13 June, 1925, at night
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Fri, 27 May 2016 22:40:42 +0100
Approved on Mon, 19 Jun 2017 11:03:40 +0100