in Wiesbaden - February, 1877

from Musings & memories of a musician, page 88:

The following morning there was a matinée musicale at the house of the same Princess of Hesse-Barchfeld. The Frankfort String Quartet, Hugo Heermann leading, had come over for the purpose. Brahms played with them his Quartet in C Minor, Op. 60, and then accompanied me in the longest, and to me the finest, of his romances from Tieck's beautiful Magellone, " Wie soll ich die Freude, die Wonne denn tragen," Op. 33, No. 6.

cite as

Georg Henschel, Musings & memories of a musician (London, 1918), p. 88. accessed: 3 February, 2023

location of experience: Wiesbaden

Listening to

hide composers
Quartet in C Minor, Op. 60
written by Johannes Brahms
performed by Johannes Brahms
The Fair Magelone
written by Ludwig Tieck
performed by Georg Henschel, Johannes Brahms

Experience Information

Date/Time February, 1877
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors

Originally submitted by Meg Barclay on Mon, 12 Sep 2016 21:51:37 +0100
Approved on Tue, 03 Oct 2017 17:06:19 +0100