Lukas Foss - 1 September, 1981

from Letter from Lukas Foss to Leonard Bernstein, Sept 1981, page 546:

Halil arrived this morning. What a moving piece. As an x-flutist (I used to play well at 15) I enjoy the flute writing, and I love the Alto Flute’s role. The end reminds me of the 1st version of the Age of Anxiety with that reentry for one chord, here it is reentry for 2 notes. It works though and if I can’t get Rampal or Galway to play it with me, I’ll have 1st flute in Milwaukee learn it (she is wonderful).
cite as

Lukas Foss, Letter from Lukas Foss to Leonard Bernstein, Sept 1981. In Nigel Simeone (ed.), The Leonard Bernstein Letters (City of New Haven, 2013), p. 546. accessed: 23 June, 2024


Lukas Foss

Experience Information

Date/Time 1 September, 1981
Medium playback
Listening Environment in private, indoors, solitary


Halil is a concerto for flute and chamber orchestra by Leonard Bernstein, composed in 1981

Originally submitted by Ivan Hewett on Tue, 31 Dec 2013 11:14:29 +0000