Susan Tomes et al. in Tokyo - October, 2000, at night

from Touring Japan with Florestan, October 2000, page 96:

As before, our rehearsal is full of 'This hasn't been right, this is too slow, I feel uncomfortable here or there.' So we do slow practice, and take the first movement of the Ravel to pieces - with good results. The closing bars have always been a problem because of the cello harmonics which sometimes fail to 'speak' when they should, making it impossible to guess how to play together with the cello notes as they move. We also discuss the timing of the final cello 'pizzicato' chord, which Richard claims to be 'placing' in a dramatic way, but which Anthony claims is simply late, and …   more >>

cite as

Susan Tomes, Touring Japan with Florestan, October 2000. In Beyond the notes : journeys with chamber music (Woodbridge, 2004), p. 96. accessed: 18 June, 2024

location of experience: Tokyo


Susan Tomes
Pianist, Writer
Anthony Marwood
Richard Lester

Listening to

hide composers
Piano Trio
written by Maurice Ravel
performed by Florestan Trio

Experience Information

Date/Time October, 2000, at night
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public, solitary


Experience took place in the district of Maebashi in the evening.

Originally submitted by iepearson on Sat, 21 Jun 2014 18:47:23 +0100
Approved on Mon, 17 Aug 2015 14:27:41 +0100