Benjamin Britten - 5 June, 1931

from Diary of Benjamin Britten, June 5 1931, page 75:

Write a bit in morning, & then go to Patron’s Fund rehearsal in morning. Only new work is Howard Ferguson’s Short Symphony in D minor. V. fine work not too well played by N[ational]. Symph. Orch under Sargent. Schuman’s ineffective Vlc conc. (Audrey Piggott), Chausson’s Chanson Perpétuelle (well sung by Veronica Mansfield) & Strauss’s v. long & meandering Burlesque for Pft & orch. Practise in aft.
cite as

Benjamin Britten, Diary of Benjamin Britten, June 5 1931. In John Evans (ed.), Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 (:London, 2009), p. 75. accessed: 23 June, 2024


Benjamin Britten

Listening to

hide composers
written by Richard Strauss
Cello Concerto
written by Robert Schuman
performed by Audrey Piggott
Chanson Perpétuelle
written by Ernest Chausson
performed by Veronica Mansfield
Short Symphony in D minor
written by Howard Ferguson (composer)
performed by Malcolm Sargent, National Symphony Orchestra

Experience Information

Date/Time 5 June, 1931
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others

Originally submitted by Simon Brown on Fri, 15 Aug 2014 14:45:35 +0100