Lionel Bradley in Queen's Hall - 6 February, 1939

from Lionel Bradley Bulletin, 6 Feb 1939:

Feb 6, Courtauld-Sargent, Feuermann

This was a good concert of strangely contrasting items. Haydn’s Sinfonia Concertante (op.84) is, in effect, a concerto grosso with a concertino consisting of solo violin, cello, oboe & bassoon. The opening allegro was distinctly Mozartean & the whole work was attractive. I am not very familiar with Dvořák’s cello concerto (op.104) it is v. melodious and without being a show piece for the ‘cello is well laid out so as to make the soloist reasonably prominent. Feuermann (have I heard him before?) seemed to play it …   more >>

cite as

Lionel Bradley, Lionel Bradley Bulletin, 6 Feb 1939. In Special Collections, Royal College of Music, number LJHB-2/034. accessed: 23 June, 2024

location of experience: Queen's Hall


Lionel Bradley

Listening to

hide composers
Le Jugement du Fou
written by Jean Françaix
performed by Malcolm Sargent
Pastoral Symphony
written by Ralph Vaughan Williams
performed by Malcolm Sargent
Sinfonia Concertante (op.84)
written by Haydn
performed by Malcolm Sargent
Cello concerto (op. 104)
written by Antonín Dvorák
performed by Malcolm Sargent, Emanuel Feuermann

Experience Information

Date/Time 6 February, 1939
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Commentary on one of the Courtauld-Sargent concerts at Queen's Hall in London. The concert included the first performance of Françaix's "Le Jugement du Fou".

Originally submitted by kerriedinburgh on Fri, 19 Dec 2014 16:36:20 +0000
Approved on Tue, 08 Nov 2016 16:43:02 +0000