Alexander Mackenzie in Sondershausen - the 1860's

from A Musician's Narrative :

The last and newest orchestral works I heard were the Prelude to Tristan, and, hot out of the publisher's oven, Liszt's Faust Symphony. The slow movement Gretchen left a vivid impression.
cite as

Alexander Mackenzie, A Musician's Narrative (London, 1927). accessed: 24 February, 2024

location of experience: Sondershausen


Alexander Mackenzie

Listening to

hide composers
Faust Symphony
written by Franz Liszt
Tristan (Prelude)

Experience Information

Date/Time the 1860's
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by gkw on Fri, 08 May 2015 17:46:01 +0100
Approved on Wed, 28 Sep 2016 11:54:14 +0100