Benjamin Britten et al. in London - 19 March, 1933

from Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938, page 135:

After supper write letters & Grace comes in to hear wireless; Henry Wood conducting slack & incompetent perfs of Haydn Drum Symp. Hindemith's Vla Concerto (with H.), which has some awfully fine & exhilarating things in it; & L'oiseau de feu, 1st Suite.*
cite as

John Evans (ed.), Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 (:London, 2009), p. 135. accessed: 25 April, 2024

location of experience: London


Benjamin Britten
Grace Williams
Schoolmistress, Composer

Listening to

hide composers
Concert Suite No. 1
written by Igor Stravinksy
performed by Henry Wood
Symphony No. 103 'Drumroll'
written by Joseph Haydn
performed by Henry Wood
Viola Concerto
written by Paul Hindemith
performed by Paul Hindemith, Henry Wood

Experience Information

Date/Time 19 March, 1933
Medium broadcast
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors


*Stravinsky Concert Suite No. 1 (1911) from his ballet, L'oiseau de feu (1910).

Originally submitted by gkw on Fri, 26 Jun 2015 14:36:31 +0100
Approved on Mon, 26 Sep 2016 23:28:40 +0100