John Pearce et al. in Teatrino Comunale, Florence - 3 April, 1934

from Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938, pages 205-206:

Go to 1st Concert of Int. Festival - Chamber, at Teatrino Communale, at 5.0, with Phyllis & John. Composers were - Martelli, Holzmann, Osterc, Reisager [?], Berg (3 movs. of Lyric Suite) & Francaix (Sonata for Vl. Vla Vlc). Kolisch Quart did most of playing. The last two were only notable works - B. magnificent & F. very charming & witty. 

cite as

John Evans (ed.), Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 (:London, 2009), p. 205-206. accessed: 25 July, 2024

location of experience: Teatrino Comunale, Florence


Listening to

hide composers
Lyric Suite
written by Alban Berg
Trio Sonata
written by Francaix
unspecified chamber music
written by Holzmann, Martelli, Osterc, Reisager

Experience Information

Date/Time 3 April, 1934
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by gkw on Sun, 26 Jul 2015 21:47:55 +0100
Approved on Mon, 26 Sep 2016 14:31:00 +0100