Mrs. Bridge et al. in London - 30 August, 1934

from Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938, page 222:

After dinner go to Prom. with Mrs. Bridge. Hear 3 prize-winning works of D. Telegraph ov. comp. - [Arnold] Cooke (3rd). [Frank] Tapp (2nd) [Cyril] Scott (3rd). Pretty bad but Cooke's was exhilarating & certainly up to date.* Tony Brosa plays Prokofiev Vln concerto simply incredibly - never heard such technique. A skew-wiff show of the lovely 2nd Borodine Symphony to end with.**

cite as

John Evans (ed.), Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 (:London, 2009), p. 222. accessed: 19 July, 2024

location of experience: London


Benjamin Britten

Listening to

hide composers
Concert Overture No. 1
written by Arnold Cooke
Symphony No. 2
written by Aleksandr Borodin
written by Frank Tapp, Cyril Scott
Violin Concerto No. 1 in D, Op. 19
written by Sergei Prokofiev
performed by Toni Brosa

Experience Information

Date/Time 30 August, 1934
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


*Arnold Cooke's Concert Overture No. 1 for orchestra was awarded first prize in this competition, but Britten mistakenly writes '3rd' in his diary entry. **Prokofiev Violin Concerto No. 1 in D, Op. 19; Borodin Symphony No. 2 in B minor (1877).

Originally submitted by gkw on Wed, 29 Jul 2015 13:51:42 +0100
Approved on Mon, 26 Sep 2016 14:11:11 +0100