Dame Ethel Mary Smyth in Gewandhaus - 1877

from Impressions That Remained Memoirs, page 147:

One chapter in an old-fashioned tale for children called "The Story without an End" begins: "As for the child he was lost in a dream of delight"; so it was with me during my first season in Leipzig. Great art joys may come to you in later life, but nothing can ever equal a first hearing of Beethoven's A Major Symphony, or Schubert's C …   more >>

cite as

Dame Ethel Mary Smyth, Impressions That Remained Memoirs (New York City, 1946), p. 147. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1438185572337 accessed: 20 June, 2024

location of experience: Gewandhaus


Dame Ethel Mary Smyth
Composer, Writer

Listening to

hide composers
C Major Quintet
written by Franz Schubert
A Major Symphony
written by Beethoven
performed by Carl Reinecke, Leipzig Gewandhaus Orchestra

Experience Information

Date/Time 1877
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by 5011Henning on Wed, 29 Jul 2015 16:59:32 +0100
Approved on Tue, 16 Aug 2016 16:44:22 +0100