Maurice Ravel et al. in Palais Garnier - 29 May, 1924, at night

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 29 May 1924, pages 60-61:

The second half of the concert included Debussy's Nocturnes, after which Seven, They Are Seven received a second airing. This time I was able to listen more calmly but the reception was cooler than it had been the first time and I was not invited to take a bow. The evening concluded with the dances from Prince Igor complete with chorus. Ravel came for the second half only. He praised Seven, saying that I had demonstrated powerful expressive means and new sonorities.

cite as, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 29 May 1924. In Sergey Prokofiev, and Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries, volume 3 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 60-61. accessed: 20 June, 2024

location of experience: Palais Garnier


Maurice Ravel
Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
Dances from Prince Igor
written by Nikolay Rimsky-Korsakov, Aleksandr Borodin, Aleksandr Glazunov
performed by Serge Koussevitzky
written by Claude Debussy
performed by Serge Koussevitzky
Seven, They Are Seven
written by Sergei Prokofiev
performed by Serge Koussevitzky

Experience Information

Date/Time 29 May, 1924, at night
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Fri, 08 Apr 2016 14:47:17 +0100
Approved on Mon, 18 Jun 2018 15:13:21 +0100