Henry Croswell et al. in St Cuthbert's Church, Philbeach Gardens, Kensington, London - the 1880's, 07:00 PM

from Transcript of the diaries of Henry Croswell, page 409:

A few years ago this district was all market gardens.

[…]

Stations of the Cross all round the Church.

O[rgan]. – Small, temporary.

H[ymns]. – "Wear[y] of earth …" and "Lead, kindly light …"

C[hoir]. – Large, good; antiphons.

[…]

[The congregation numbered] 300 Quite full.  Wonderful for a Kensington Sunday evening.  All devout, enthusiastic.

S[ermon]. – Didn't stop.

[…]

M[iscellaneous]. – […] Perfect model of a temporary church.  Nothing left to be desired.

cite as

Henry Croswell, Transcript of the diaries of Henry Croswell. In British Library, number 000826807, C.194.c.113 , p. 409. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1553171914559 accessed: 1 December, 2022 (By permission of the British Library.)

location of experience: St Cuthbert's Church, Philbeach Gardens, Kensington, London

Listeners

Henry Croswell
assurance clerk, Sunday School teacher
1840-1893

Listening to

hide composers
Anglican church music including antiphons performed by the choir and organist of St Cuthbert's Church Philbeach Gardens
'Weary of earth' performed by the choir and organist of St Cuthbert's Church Philbeach Gardens
'Lead, kindly light' performed by the choir and organist of St Cuthbert's Church Philbeach Gardens

Experience Information

Date/Time the 1880's, 07:00 PM
Duration 45 minutes
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Notes

Henry Croswell (1840–93) kept a record of his visits to churches in London over a period of more than twelve years (1872–85). He made methodical notes about the number of clergy, the churchmanship, the congregation, the sermon and the church architecture, as well as commenting on the music that he heard (the organ, the hymns and the choir). The above listening experience has been extracted from one of these records. The record is undated. Its position within the whole places it as 26 October 1884.


Originally submitted by lcc5 on Thu, 21 Mar 2019 12:38:35 +0000
Approved on Mon, 22 Jul 2019 17:12:58 +0100