Henry Croswell et al. in The Lock Hospital Chapel, Harrow Road, Paddington, London - 22 February, 1885

from Transcript of the diaries of Henry Croswell, page 424:

O[rgan]. – Ordinary in the West Gallery.

H[ymns]. – Bickers, ordinary selection.

C[hoir]. – "Partly paid".  Many lads and young men but few females in the choir.

[The congregation numbered] 800 Quite a wonderful gathering.  Curious - so many young ladies! 

S[ermon]. – [I d]idn't stop[.]

cite as

Henry Croswell, Transcript of the diaries of Henry Croswell. In British Library, number 000826807, C.194.c.113 , p. 424. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1553509044867 accessed: 17 October, 2021 (By permission of the British Library.)

location of experience: The Lock Hospital Chapel, Harrow Road, Paddington, London

Listeners

Henry Croswell
assurance clerk, Sunday School teacher
1840-1893

Listening to

hide composers
Anglican church music performed by the choir and organist of the Lock Chapel Harrow Road
hymns selected from the 'Hymnal Companion' performed by the choir and organist of the Lock Chapel Harrow Road

Experience Information

Date/Time 22 February, 1885
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Notes

Henry Croswell (1840–93) kept a record of his visits to churches in London over a period of more than twelve years (1872–85). He made methodical notes about the number of clergy, the churchmanship, the congregation, the sermon and the church architecture, as well as commenting on the music that he heard (the organ, the hymns and the choir). The above listening experience has been extracted from one of these records. Unusually, Croswell does not record the precise time of his visit, but he attended the evening service. Founded by William Bromfield, the London Lock Hospital opened in 1747 for the treatment of venereal disease. Originally located in Grosvenor Place, it moved to the Paddington site in 1842. Following the opening of a branch in Dean Street to treat male out-patients in 1862, the Paddington building was renamed the 'Female Hospital'. ‘Bickers’ refers to ‘The Hymnal Companion to the Book of Common Prayer’ (1870, rev. 1877; and in a revised edition with tunes, 1890) compiled by Edward Henry Bickersteth (1825–1906).


Originally submitted by lcc5 on Mon, 25 Mar 2019 10:17:26 +0000
Approved on Mon, 22 Jul 2019 10:23:07 +0100