Ignatz Moscheles in Leipzig - in the beginning of 1849

from Recent Music and Musicians, page 352:

On a second hearing of Schumann's Symphony in C, I feel more and more that he follows boldly in Beethoven's footsteps, reminding me of him in daring, but scarcely in tenderness. I think his D minor Trio a composition of the most passionate character it is based less on intensity of ideas than on his power of moving in the most varied keys. The Scherzo is the most piquant movement, the Adagio very gloomy.
cite as

Ignatz Moscheles, and Charlotte Moscheles (ed.), Recent Music and Musicians (New York, 1879), p. 352. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1432022362592 accessed: 18 June, 2024

location of experience: Leipzig


Ignatz Moscheles
Head of Leigzig Conservertoir, Composer, Conducting, Musician […]

Listening to

hide composers
Piano Trio No. 1 in D minor, op. 63
written by Robert Schumann
Schumann's Symphony in C
written by Robert Schumann

Experience Information

Date/Time in the beginning of 1849
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by mallen on Tue, 19 May 2015 08:59:22 +0100