Alexander Mackenzie in Royal Academy of Music - 1886

from A Musician's Narrative , pages 150-151:

The programme consisted of the following works: Goethe Festival March (Liszt); Caprice in E (Sterndale Bennett; Miss Dora Bright); Concerto for Violin (Mackenzie; Miss Winifred Robinson); Concert Study (Liszt; Mr. Septimus Webbe); Overture John the Baptist (Macfarren). Conductor: Mr. William Shakespeare. Liszt then played to the delighted students his own Chant Polonaise and Cantique d'Amour. The function of that afternoon left its ineffaceable traces.
cite as

Alexander Mackenzie, A Musician's Narrative (London, 1927), p. 150-151. accessed: 19 July, 2024

location of experience: Royal Academy of Music


Alexander Mackenzie

Listening to

hide composers
Caprice in E
written by Sir William Sterndale Bennett
Concerto for Violin
written by Mackenzie
Goethe Festival March
written by Franz Liszt
John the Baptist
written by Macfarren
Concert Study
written by Franz Liszt
performed by Mr. Septimus Webbe

Experience Information

Date/Time 1886
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by gkw on Tue, 19 May 2015 23:15:47 +0100
Approved on Wed, 28 Sep 2016 11:37:37 +0100