Sergei Prokofiev in Saint Petersburg Conservatory - 9 May, 1913

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 9 May 1913, page 399:

The morning was spent on studying the score of Brahms's Violin Concerto and Saint Saëns's Piano Concerto, and at one o'clock I rehearsed them with soloists and orchestra. Neither concerto went particularly brilliantly: for both Poznyakovskaya and Lipyansky it was their first time playing with an orchestra, consequently they made mistakes and played unrhythmically. Neither was my accompaniment up to much, and the orchestra did not know the music.

cite as

Sergey Prokofiev, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 9 May 1913. In Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries 1907-1914 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 399. accessed: 14 July, 2024

location of experience: Saint Petersburg Conservatory


Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
Violin Concerto
written by Johannes Brahms, William Primrose, Beethoven
performed by Lipyansky, Student orchestra of the Imperial Conservatoire
Piano Concerto in C minor
written by Camille Saint-Saƫns
performed by Natalya Poznyakovskaya, Student orchestra of the Imperial Conservatoire

Experience Information

Date/Time 9 May, 1913
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Wed, 05 Aug 2015 12:35:46 +0100
Approved on Fri, 08 Jun 2018 16:18:19 +0100