Sergei Prokofiev - May, 1915

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: May 1915, pages 44-45:

Everywhere people were playing my latest opus, the Sarcasms, invariably to stunning effect, but mostly from the outside; very few people appreciated their inner content. Nurok and Nouvel commented: 'After the Sarcasms, your next opus will have to be called Five Charges of Assault and Battery,' and laughed immoderately at their witticism.

cite as, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: May 1915, p. 44-45. accessed: 23 June, 2024

location of experience:


Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
written by Sergei Prokofiev
performed by Various

Experience Information

Date/Time May, 1915
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Thu, 17 Dec 2015 14:27:04 +0000
Approved on Wed, 13 Jun 2018 16:41:31 +0100