Sergei Prokofiev - 10 December, 1918, at night

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 27 November [10 December] 1918, page 365:

There followed a series of small orchestral pieces including my Scherzo for Four Bassoons. It was played with great gusto and at a faster tempo than I had expected. Altschuler had inserted it into the programme before the Piano Concerto 'to establish good relations between the audience and me'. The audience certainly did seem to like the piece, and demanded an encore. The Concerto also went well and I was called back to the platform seven times.

cite as, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 27 November [10 December] 1918, p. 365. accessed: 23 June, 2024

location of experience:


Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
Bassoon Scherzo
written by Sergei Prokofiev
Piano Concerto no. 1
written by Sergei Prokofiev
performed by Modest Altschuler, Russian Symphony Orchestra Society, Sergei Prokofiev

Experience Information

Date/Time 10 December, 1918, at night
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Sun, 03 Jan 2016 19:21:38 +0000
Approved on Mon, 18 Jun 2018 09:28:51 +0100