Sergei Prokofiev et al. in Mariinsky Theatre - between at the end of 1916 and in the beginning of 1917

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 16 December 1922, page 693:

This winter [the winter of 1916-17] also saw the premiere in Ziloti's concert season of Autumnal, also the tremendously successful repeat of the Scythian Suite, outdoing that of the preceding work in the programme, Rachmaninoff's performance of his own Second Piano Concerto. Rachmaninoff heard the Suite standing in the gagway of the Mariinsky Theatre, and said (as it was reported to me): 'I do not understand this music, but I sense that it is talented.'

cite as, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 16 December 1922, p. 693. accessed: 21 July, 2024

location of experience: Mariinsky Theatre


Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician
Sergei Rachmaninoff

Listening to

hide composers
Ala i Lolli
written by Sergei Prokofiev
Piano Concerto no. 2
written by Sergei Prokofiev, Sergei Rachmaninoff
performed by Alexander Siloti, Sergei Rachmaninoff
written by Sergei Prokofiev
performed by Alexander Siloti

Experience Information

Date/Time between at the end of 1916 and in the beginning of 1917
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


S.P. believed at the time of writing that his diaries from this period had been lost in the looting of his apartment. However, it is clear that the notebook was in fact preserved - it is thought to have been passed to Prokofiev's friend and fellow composer, Nikolay Myaskovsky, who kept it at great personal risk.

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Wed, 30 Mar 2016 17:25:28 +0100
Approved on Mon, 18 Jun 2018 14:25:28 +0100