Sergei Prokofiev in Paris - 14 January, 1924, at night

from Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 14 January 1924, page 8:

Borovosky's concert in the evening. The third of three excerpts from Petrushka, phenomenally 'orchestrated' for piano, was despatched in a colossal blaze of brilliance. What a huge leap forward from the fireworks of old man Liszt! It seems there is nothing more the piano can do. But the form is unsatisfactory: the temperature cools at the end and the final glissando is coarse. I liked the first movement of Ravel's Sonatine.

cite as, Sergey Prokofiev diaries: 14 January 1924. In Sergey Prokofiev, and Anthony Phillips (ed.), Sergey Prokofiev diaries, volume 3 (Ithaca N.Y, 2006), p. 8. accessed: 20 May, 2024

location of experience: Paris


Sergei Prokofiev
performer, Composer, Musician

Listening to

hide composers
written by Maurice Ravel
performed by Alexander Borovsky
Petrushka piano transcription
written by Igor Stravinsky
performed by Alexander Borovsky

Experience Information

Date/Time 14 January, 1924, at night
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by isobel.1111 on Fri, 01 Apr 2016 15:21:05 +0100
Approved on Mon, 18 Jun 2018 14:34:22 +0100