Denis Matthews in Leeds - between 1954 and 1955

from In Pursuit of Music, page 122:

[Maurice] Miles’s successor in Leeds was Nicolai Malko, who conducted Tchaikowsky’s Fourth Symphony as a noble, dignified masterpiece instead of the hysterical travesty it can so easily become.  But Malko’s hold on the orchestra was so strong that it once led to an extraordinary incident.  We were playing the first Beethoven concerto and during a purely …   more >>

cite as

Denis Matthews, In Pursuit of Music (London, 1966), p. 122. accessed: 19 July, 2024

location of experience: Leeds


Denis Matthews
Broadcaster, Musicologist, Pianist

Listening to

hide composers
Symphony No. 4
written by Peter Ilich Tchaikovsky
performed by Yorkshire Symphony Orchestra, Nikolai Malko
Piano Concerto No. 1
written by Beethoven
performed by Yorkshire Symphony Orchestra, Nikolai Malko, Denis Matthews

Experience Information

Date/Time between 1954 and 1955
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Matthews leaves the date uncertain in his memoir, but Malko was conductor of the Yorkshire Symphony Orchestra for only one season, 1954-55.

Originally submitted by lcc5 on Thu, 27 Oct 2016 09:54:03 +0100
Approved on Tue, 16 May 2017 16:41:16 +0100