Delius in Leipzig - at the end of 1887

from Delius: A Life in Letters 1862-1908, page 394:

He [Edvard Grieg] had then just finished his C Minor Violin Sonata, which had its first performance during the winter season at the Gewandhaus chamber concerts, Adolf Brodsky playing the violin and Grieg the piano. It was a beautiful performance and I was very enthusiastic, and after the concert I wrote Grieg an enthusiastic letter with my impressions, enclosing in the letter a sprig of heather which I had gathered on the Hardanger Vidder. Next day I was very much moved to see what a deep impression this had made upon him.

cite as

Delius, and Lionel Carley (ed.), Delius: A Life in Letters 1862-1908 (), p. 394. accessed: 20 May, 2024

location of experience: Leipzig


Composer, Composer

Listening to

hide composers
Grieg's C Minor Violin Sonata
written by Edvard Grieg
performed by Adolf Brodsky, Edvard Grieg

Experience Information

Date/Time at the end of 1887
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Excerpt from "Delius: Recollections of Grieg".

Originally submitted by verafonte on Tue, 13 Dec 2016 15:27:36 +0000
Approved on Wed, 26 Apr 2017 14:18:48 +0100