Gregor Piatigorsky in Berlin - in the middle of the 1920's

from Cellist- Gregor Piatigorsky, pages 120-121:

I wish all young musicians could have witnessed the enthusiasm with which Schnabel and Flesch reacted to the Ravel Trio, which was new to them. / “Artur, stop, let us play this phrase once more. I think I found something that will even ‘over-French’ Jacques Thibaud.” / “Friends, listen. How do you like this pedal here?” Schnabel asked. “So clouded, yet clear.” I listened to his caressing and velvety sound.
cite as

Gregor Piatigorsky, Cellist- Gregor Piatigorsky (New York, 1976), p. 120-121. accessed: 18 July, 2024

location of experience: Berlin


Gregor Piatigorsky

Listening to

hide composers
Piano Trio
written by Maurice Ravel
performed by Artur Schnabel, Carl Flesh, Gregor Piatigorsky

Experience Information

Date/Time in the middle of the 1920's
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others

Originally submitted by tlisboa on Thu, 05 Mar 2015 00:15:36 +0000
Approved on Tue, 02 Feb 2016 16:09:34 +0000