Pierre Tas in UK - between 1892 and 1906

from The Limbo Years, page 57:

...but the music was good too, and so were the stories of old Pierre Tas. One of these was extremely revealing, for he had played several times as a deputy with the Joachim Quartet, the players who had presented to the world all the finest chamber works of Brahms and had done so in the presence of the composer himself. The fascination for me in his description of these occasions was his opinion of the great clarinettist Richard Mühlfeld, the player who inspired Brahms to write all his latest and finest works. 'He had a fiery technique, but use both A and B flat clarinet in the middle section …   more >>
cite as

Jack Brymer, The Limbo Years. In From Where I Sit (London, 1979), p. 57. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1422306310430 accessed: 17 July, 2024

location of experience: UK


Pierre Tas
violin teacher, Violinist

Listening to

hide composers
Quintet in B minor op. 115
written by Brahms
performed by Joachim Quartet, Richard Mühlfeld

Experience Information

Date/Time between 1892 and 1906
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in private, indoors, in public


Locations are unspecified. Performance dates approximated from information in 'Richard Mühlfeld: der Brahms-Klarinettist' by Maren Goltz and Herta Müller (Balve: Artivo, 2007).

Originally submitted by iepearson on Mon, 26 Jan 2015 21:05:10 +0000
Approved on Wed, 02 Mar 2016 13:28:03 +0000