Benjamin Britten in Royal College of Music - 22 June, 1932, 08:15 PM

from Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938, page 108:

Walk with Beth after tea. Go to R.C.M. with her at 8.15 for part of Chamber concert. Stravinskys 3 pieces for Str. Quartet* (marvelous works) are creditably (not more) played by a quartet including Richards, Then a dismal, disgraceful in technique & musicianship, performance of "La Folia" by R.C. Onley.** A dull cantata ("Non sa che sia dolore" - but it might have been in Sanskrit) by Bach followed.*** After that we fled.
cite as

John Evans (ed.), Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 (:London, 2009), p. 108. accessed: 13 June, 2024

location of experience: Royal College of Music


Benjamin Britten

Listening to

hide composers
La Folia
written by R. C. Onley, Fritz Kreisler
Three Pieces
written by Igor Stravinksy
Non sa che sia dolore (BWV 208)
written by Johann Sebastian Bach

Experience Information

Date/Time 22 June, 1932, 08:15 PM
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


*Stravinsky Three Pieces for string quartet (1914, rev. 1918). **Fritz Kreisler's arrangement for violin and piano of a set of variations by Corelli. ***He Knows Not the Meaning of Sorrow (BWV 208), now considered of doubtful authenticity

Originally submitted by gkw on Thu, 18 Jun 2015 22:26:20 +0100
Approved on Tue, 27 Sep 2016 11:40:00 +0100