Howard Ferguson et al. in Queen's Hall - 9 December, 1932, 08:15 PM

from Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938, page 125:

I go to Courtauld Sargent-concert* with Howard Ferguson at 8.15. Kodaly's rather dull "Theatre Overture." Suggia plays Haydn's conc. v. well. An amusing Concertante by him (Vln. Vlc. Ob. Fag.). Bax's fourth Symphony.** V. disappointing after 3rd. But one can't judge by one hearing, I suppose Back, after going to a restaurant with Howard by 11.30.
cite as

John Evans (ed.), Journeying boy : the diaries of the young Benjamin Britten 1928-1938 (:London, 2009), p. 125. accessed: 20 May, 2024

location of experience: Queen's Hall


Benjamin Britten

Listening to

hide composers
Sinfonia concertante in B flat (Hob.1:105)
written by Joseph Haydn
performed by Suggia, Malcolm Sargent
Symphony No. 4
written by Bax
performed by Malcolm Sargent
Theatre Overture
written by Zoltán Kodály
performed by Malcolm Sargent

Experience Information

Date/Time 9 December, 1932, 08:15 PM
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


*A popular subscription series at London's Queen's Hall, founded in 1929 by benefactor Mrs Samuel [Elizabeth Theresa Frances] Courtauld (who had underwritten Beecham's Covent Garden seasons in the 1920s) and the conductor Malcolm Sargent, with the express purpose of presenting programmes that featured contemporary works alongside the mainstream repertoire of the day. **Kodaly Theatre Overture (1927); Haydn Sinfonia concertante in B flat (Hob.1 : 105); Bax Symphony No. 4 (1931).

Originally submitted by gkw on Tue, 23 Jun 2015 22:40:37 +0100
Approved on Mon, 26 Sep 2016 23:44:21 +0100