Lowell Mason in London - in the middle of 1852

from Musical letters from Abroad, page 161:

We did not arrive in London until after most of the musical season was over; consequently there is not much to be heard. On the very day of our arrival, however, we had the pleasure of attending a very fine performance of “The Musical Union.” The following was the programme for the occasion:


1. Quintet, G minor, Mozart.

Allegro, Adagio, Minuet, Finale.

MM. Sivory, Mellon, Vieuxtemps, Oury, and Piatti.


2. Trio, E flat. Op. 70, Beethoven.

Adagio and Allegro, Allegretto, Minuet, Finale.

MM. Hallé, …   more >>

cite as

Lowell Mason, Musical letters from Abroad. In Musical Letters from Abroad (New York, 1854), p. 161. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1448394436678 accessed: 24 May, 2024

location of experience: London


Lowell Mason
Musician, Composer

Listening to

hide composers
Quintet in G minor
written by Mozart
performed by Mellon, Oury, Piatti, Sivory, Vieuxtemps
Trio in Eb
written by Beethoven
performed by Hallé, Piatti, Sivory
Quintet Op. 20
written by Beethoven
performed by Mellon, Oury, Piatti, Vieuxtemps, Webb
written by Felix Mendelssohn

Experience Information

Date/Time in the middle of 1852
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public

Originally submitted by acusworth on Tue, 24 Nov 2015 19:47:16 +0000
Approved on Fri, 17 Mar 2017 19:46:25 +0000