Lowell Mason in Düsseldorf - 4 August, 52

from Musical letters from Abroad, page 188:

The “Tableaux Vivants” were now exhibited. Each tableaux was exhibited three times; they were all magnificently prepared, and the whole exhibition was exceedingly interesting and beautiful. The order was as follows:

1. “Orpheus liberates Eurydice” from the under world.” After P. Cornelius. Accompanied by extracts from the text and the music of Gluck's opera.

2. “The Singer's Curse.” After M. Tolz. Accompanied by music from Robert Schumann’s third Symphonie.

3. “A Landscape.” A group of young men accompany a …   more >>

cite as

Lowell Mason, Musical letters from Abroad. In Musical Letters from Abroad (New York, 1854), p. 188. https://led.kmi.open.ac.uk/entity/lexp/1448835299579 accessed: 13 June, 2024

location of experience: Düsseldorf


Lowell Mason
Musician, Composer

Listening to

hide composers
Extracts from Orfeo ed Euridice
written by Christoph Willibald Gluck

Experience Information

Date/Time 4 August, 52
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, in public

Originally submitted by acusworth on Sun, 29 Nov 2015 22:14:59 +0000
Approved on Sun, 19 Mar 2017 07:43:41 +0000