Delius in Berlin - December, 1900

from Delius: A Life in Letters 1862-1908, page 176:

As far as I can see I have absolutely no chance here - Strauss plays his own things - Weingartner plays his own things & Nikisch plays nothing new - The last Concert was a Haydn Symphonie - Mendelssohn Violin Concerto & a slow ungifted Dramatic Overture by Scharwenka "beaucoup de bruit pour rien" Strauss of course is always interesting - but as I am here I might as well stay a bit & hear as much new as I can -

cite as

Delius, and Lionel Carley (ed.), Delius: A Life in Letters 1862-1908 (), p. 176. accessed: 21 June, 2024

location of experience: Berlin


Composer, Composer

Listening to

hide composers
Haydn symphony
written by Haydn
Dramatic Overture
written by Franz Xaver Scharwenka
Mendelssohn violin concerto
written by Felix Mendelssohn

Experience Information

Date/Time December, 1900
Medium live
Listening Environment in the company of others, indoors, in public


Letter from Fritz Delius to Jelka Rosen, 26 Winterfeldt Str, 14th December 1900.

Originally submitted by verafonte on Thu, 28 Apr 2016 18:10:29 +0100
Approved on Wed, 17 Aug 2016 15:22:43 +0100